Saturday, July 31, 2010

Spotlight on Australian Authors Mel Teshco



I have the pleasure today of introducing my second Spotlight on Australian Author Mel Teshco. 

SCR: Thanks for joining us for an interview.
Thanks so much for having me =)

SCR: Since this is a Spotlight on Australian Authors can you tell us about where you grew up?
I was born in Warburton, Victoria. But as my dad was a restless soul, my family and I lived all along the East Coast of Australia. Some beautiful areas.

SCR: What is your fondest memory from your childhood?
We nearly always lived on property and didn’t have television until I was older (I was the youngest of 4 children) so we spent nearly every day outside. With my sister and two brothers we rode bikes, swam in rivers, went for long walks with our dog and just pretty much entertained ourselves. We also did plenty of horse riding with friends and — when we moved to a small town for a few years (Kyogle) we spent lots of time at the pool there. 

SCR: Did your family have a favourite holiday spot?
Because we moved so much, our holidays were nearly always travelling to see ‘Grandma and Grandpa’ and ‘Nan and Pop’. Otherwise we spent lots of time at the beach.

SCR: Now onto your books.  Can you give us a little run down on what your books are about?
I write for both Silhouette Nocturne Bites (now harlequin) and Ellora’s Cave.

HER DARK LORD is my Nocturne Bites story about a woman (a dhampire) searching for the Ancient One – a vampire elder — who she believes is key to saving her dying mother.

STONE-COLD LOVER & ICE-COLD LOVER are two novellas that are part of my 3 book WINGED & DANGEROUS series for Ellora’s Cave.
SCL is about a seemingly spoiled heiress with a reputation for one night stands. Her gargoyle guardian is the one man she wants, but cannot have.
ICL features the daughter of the hero and heroine of SCL. Celeste is human in every way except her hated gargoyle wings, which she keeps hidden beneath a corset. She is known for her ‘ice queen’ reputation. But perhaps Pascal, the son of a mobster, is the one man who can thaw her heart?
KALLIE REVEALED is my contemporary ‘quickie’ (short story). Kallie is a woman who turns to stripping to make her feel beautiful again, after her fairytale life falls apart.
CARNAL MOON is my other ‘quickie’ released soon through Ellora’s Cave. Holly is compelled once a month—at the full moon—to mate with another werewolf male. But she doesn’t want to lose Ricky, her mortal lover.

SCR: What first inspired you to write?
Aside from my love of reading, I’d always written my own stories. As a young girl these almost always featured horses and a heroine.

SCR: What made you choose paranormal romance as your genre to write about?
Except for KALLIE REVEALED, most of my stories are about vampires, werewolves and gargoyles. Even one of my current stories, BELIEVE, which I’m co-writing, has paranormal elements (psychic/ghosts). I love reading and writing this genre as the impossible becomes the possible. The hero’s tend to be dark and powerful and more often than not, so are the women. I also love the world building behind the characters.

SCR: Do you come up with the titles for your books?
All of my Ellora’s Cave books have been my own titles. Although my first release there—STONE-COLD LOVER was originally titled Kissed by Stone. I had to change it as another author had a release there already called Kissing Stone. My Nocturne Bites HER DARK LORD, was originally called Blood Chance.

SCR: Is there a message in your books that you want readers to grasp?
Most of my books have a message of some sort. I like to believe that beneath every bad boy (or girl) there’s some good waiting to be found.

SCR: Why do you think we have such an obsession with all things paranormal at the moment?
Probably the escapism from reality, the sinking into another world of the author’s creation. I also think the hero and heroine’s are able to get away with a lot more than in a contemporary.

SCR: Are there any new authors that have grabbed you interest? If so, who are they?
I love JR Ward, she’s probably my favourite author at the moment. I’m actually looking forward to reading lots more ‘new’ authors once I have an e-reader.

SCR: Reading anything interesting at the moment?
I have a couple of Laurann Dohner’s books at the moment. She’s a great friend at Ellora’s Cave and one who readers love too, so I thought I’d take a look at some of her alien hero’s. (great research for an alien idea I have)

SCR: If you could be a fly on the wall in any room at any moment in time, where would you be?
Some of the biblical stories really grab me. Imagine being a fly on the wall in the arc, in a temple, or on the pharaoh’s throne. I’d love to have been in the room while Esther was preparing to meet the king.

Thanks again for stopping by.
Ice-Cold Lover:
Book trailer: 

Stone-Cold Lover:
Book Trailer:

Her Dark Lord:
Book Trailer:
Kallie Revealed:
Book Trailer:



Random.org is going to select one random commenter to win a copy of Mel's latest book Ice Cold Lover. (Unless you would prefer one of her others). You can just make a comment, ask Mel a question or answer 'If you could be a fly on the wall at any moment in time, where would it be?' Please leave your email address.
Giveaway ends Sat August 7th.
 (If you're new to SCR, please be a follower, but it's not compulsory. I'll most probably follow you back!)

Let's begin!




Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine.
book cover of 

Dead Beautiful 

by

Yvonne Woon

Dead Beautiful

21 Sept

A novel by

Yvonne Woon

A haunting love story about desire, danger, and destiny.

After Renee Winters discovers her parents lying dead in California's Redwood Forest in what appears to be a strange double murder, her grandfather sends her off to Gottfried Academy in Maine, a remote and mysterious high school dedicated to philosophy, 'crude sciences,' and Latin: the Language of the Dead. It's here she meets Dante, a dark and elusive student to whom she feels inexplicably drawn. As they get to know each other better, Dante can't seem to control his attraction either, and their desires gradually deepen into a complex and dangerous romance. Dangerous because Dante is hiding a frightening secret. A secret so terrible, it has him fearing for Renee's life.

Dante's not the only one with secrets, though. Turns out Gottfried Academy has a few of its own. Like, how come students keep disappearing? Why are the prefect-like Monitors creeping around campus during the night? And what exactly are the Headmistress and Professors really up to? Renee is determined to find out why.
Dead Beautiful is both a compelling romance and thought-provoking read, bringing shocking new meaning to life, death, love, and the nature of the soul.

(description from Fantastic Fiction)

What are you waiting on?

I got my first award!

I received my first blogger award from Missy @ Missy Read and Reviews
She gave me  The Versatile Blogger award.


Here's how this award works:1. Thank and link back to the person who gave you this award.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass the award along to 15 bloggers who you have recently discovered and who you think are fantastic for whatever reason! (In no particular order...)
4. Contact the bloggers you've picked and let them know about the award
.
7 Things:
1. I'm the oldest of three children.
2. I love the smell of coffee, but I don't drink it, or tea.
3. I finally have a working idea for a novel that I hope to someday get published. I have written countless stories, but never finished one.
4. I have a thing for Jet Li.
5. My all time favorite movie is a toss up between Jurassic Park & Top Gun.
6. I plan my life around when I can read books. I sometimes get frustrated that I'm at work and not reading.
7. I've been to Greece, England & Egypt.

15 Bloggers I've Chosen

Monday, July 26, 2010

Spotlight on Australian Authors Mel Teshco



Please come join me this Saturday July 31st for an interview and giveaway with Aussie paranormal romance author Mel Teshco! She will be giving away a copy of her latest book Ice Cold Lover (or any other of her books if you would prefer) to one random commenter. 


Celeste has been having vivid sexual dreams starring Pascal Daniels. The son of a mobster, he is every woman’s most dangerous fantasy. Pascal leads a charmed life and can have any woman he wants, any time he wants her. Celeste is determined to have him—but just once. Because she has a secret she will fight tooth and nail to protect. She is human in every way but one—hideous bat-like wings, a permanent legacy from her once-cursed gargoyle father, Cray.
 Pascal is used to attention from women, but he’s looking for someone special. He’s interested in the ice queen, Celeste Diamond. He thinks hers is the perfect female form, one he’d do anything to possess. Pascal has decided it’s way past time to warm up the mysterious, elusive Celeste.
And perhaps he’ll share some secrets of his own.

When Kallie’s fairytale life turned into a nightmare, she dealt with the stress in a way she never would have imagined. For too long she’s yearned to live life outside the box, experience things she has always been too afraid to try.

Becoming every man’s fantasy as a stripper drives away the constant ache within and makes her feel beautiful again. She discovers her dark side and sets out to explore her secret desires. 

Seth Masterton is a rising star in the corporate world and he is everything Kallie has ever wanted. He’s watched all Kallie’s performances and never hides his lust for her. She knows it is time to face her demons and make some changes in her life. Maybe this possessive man is all she really needs. Tonight, she’ll find out.


When dhampir Kia Montana takes a man home, she isn’t looking for names or a relationship--she only wants someone who can satisfy her lust for both sex and blood. But Kia’s new mission is to find Sean Maximillus, Lord Vampire and the lone being capable of curing Kia’s mother. Kia thought she found the key to success with Ronan, a mysterious man who promises to take her to Maximillus…and who shares a carnal passion with Kia even bloodlust couldn't match. 
But Ronan also seems to know too much about Kia...things she never told him. And as she is drawn deeper into Ronan's world, he reveals secrets that will change Kia's life forever....

Heiress Loretta Shaw is notorious for her loose morals and sexual needs. Trouble is, it's taken her one too many one-night stands to realize that no man can extinguish the sexual fire she feels toward her guardian, Cray Diamond.
A long-ago curse made Cray immortal - a gargoyle, a guardian, who is impelled to protect a human chosen by the curse. He is imprisoned in stone during daylight hours but dusk returns him to flesh and bone to carry out his immortal duty. 
That Cray can shift between human and living gargoyle at night bothers Loretta not one bit. She's seen him naked many times and her desire for him - in any shape or form - knows no bounds. She's tired of his resistance. He's her gargoyle...and she wants him in her bed. 



  Visit her website and blog for more information.

Saturday, July 24, 2010

YA reviews Part 2



Bianca has found refuge again with the Black Cross, and she and Lucas work desperately to keep her secret. In this company, being a vampire is a death sentence, and the two of them live and train alongside the hunters without anyone noticing her increasing need for blood.
Even though she′s with the boy she loves more than anyone else in the world, Bianca can′t help worrying about the family and friends she left behind. Caught between three feuding worlds, it′s starting to feel as though she′ll never be entirely at peace again.
When another betrayal puts the lovers in mortal danger once more, they realise that all they truly have is one another. But with the secret of Bianca′s birth taking hold, not even Lucas can help her win her toughest fight yet.

Hourglass is the third installment in the Evernight series. I've had this book since it was released, but had put off reading it. I do that sometimes if I feel that I'm really invested in the characters. Same with Richelle Meads Vampire Academy. I haven't even finished Spirit Bound. (I'm weird, I know) I really like the Evernight novels and the characters in them. So anyway.....I really like Bianca and Lucas' characters. They love each a whole lot, and are always trying to look out for each other. I think they have a pretty strong relationship. Bianca really misses her family and wants to contact them, but Lucas tells her she needs to wait so they don't reveal the whereabouts of the Black Cross cell. One night she disobeys him, and the repercussions are pretty bad. She also keeps it a secret from Lucas, but when he finds out he's pretty mad. There's also something going on with Bianca and she knows its life altering, but she doesn't know what it is. They escape Black Cross, and are living in a friends wine cellar. They're quite happy, then Bianca's symptoms get worse. Lucas feels helpless, and its really sad, how he beats himself up. You can feel how much he loves her. Bianca is scared, but seems to have made peace with herself. The ending is quite heart rending, and sad. I can't wait for Afterlife to see what happens to them. 4/5


Vampire musician Michael Glass has attracted the attention of a big- time producer who wants to cut a demo and play some gigs-which means Michael will have to enter the human world. For this, he's been assigned escorts that include both a dangerous immortal as well as Michael's all-too-human friends. And with that mix of personalities, this is going to be a road trip from hell....


When I read the Morganville Vampire books, its like seeing great friends again. This is one of my favorite YA series. Rachel Caine has created such fantastic characters, and they must seem like family by now. Michael gets a call to cut a demo, so they gang decides to head off to Dallas with him. They think its going to be great road trip, then they find out that Oliver (not very nice vampire) is going to be their escort. Of course they try not to let him get them down.  Michael was made into a vampire without his consent, Eve is his Goth girlfriend. Then there's Claire, seventeen year old super genius, and her boyfriend Shane. Michael and Shane, mostly Shane, have serious protection streaks. Its kind of cute. These books are always witty, and such a joy to read. They're never dull. There's also quite a bit of action. In this book they have quite a few problems...Eve wanting ice-cream almost causes them to be killed, Eve's car gets destroyed, then they get arrested, attacked, kidnapped by escaping vampires, trapped in a town with sick, crazy vampires(they end up saving the vampires & town) and finally make it to Dallas. They all have some apprehension about going back to Morganville. It's mostly Shane as he doesn't really have anything to go back for. They do make it back in one piece though. These books are quite short but Rachel Caine stuffs them full to the brim with a great tale. I highly recommend this series if you haven't read it. 4.5/5


Nikki's just found out that her long-lost father is the demon king of the Shadowlands - the world that separates and protects us from the Underworld. When she is brought there by the mysterious - and surprisingly cute - messenger Michael, she learns that her father is dying and wants her to assume the throne. To complicate matters, a war is brewing between the Shadowlands and the Underworld, her half-demon qualities are manifesting, and her growing feelings for Michael are completely forbidden. And back in 'our' world, the Winter Dance is looming... what's a teenage demon princess to do?


I enjoyed this book immensely. Nikki has just moved to a new town with her mother and her fourth husband. She becomes best friends with the popular girl and hot guy Chris has just asked her out. Her life seems great for the first time in a long time. Nikki is quite sassy, and has a pretty good sense of humor. At school there's a weird guy that keeps staring at her. She's quite bothered by him, so Melinda yells at him. he disappears. Then she's walking home late from school, when she realizes she's being followed. Michael introduces himself, and she realizes its the weirdo from school. To her consternation he tells her she's a demon princess ans she must return with him to the Shadowlands. he gives her a letter that he says is from her long lost father. Of course she thinks he's psycho and a little bit cute. Michael returns again, this time he saves her life, and she agrees to go to the Shadowlands. She meets her father, but there's something wrong with him. Nikki starts to believe, crazy as everything sounds, and really wants a relationship with her father. She meets her aunt, who has an ulterior motive, and everyone just wants whats best for her. Nikki is sick of everyone telling her 'she has to'. She goes against everyone, to figure out whats wrong with her father, and then discovers her aunts big, nasty secret. Nikki really comes into herself in the book. She realizes she has to stay true herself and things have a way of working out. This book is funny, bright, and kept me turning pages. Can't wait to see what happens to Nikki next. 4/5

Friday, July 23, 2010

YA reviews Part 1

I haven't reviewed any books for a while, and I've been reading a few YA novels. So I decided to do a post with some of the books I've read recently.

                                                          Half human, half angel, Meridian Sozu has a dark responsibility.
Meridian has always been an outcast. It seems that wherever she goes, death and grief follow. On her sixteenth birthday, a car crashes in front of her family’s home - and though she’s untouched, Meridian’s body explodes in pain.

Before she can fully recover, Meridian is told that she’s a danger to her family and is hustled off to her great-aunt’s house in Revelation, Colorado. There she learns the secret her parents have been hiding for her entire life: Meridian is a Fenestra, the half-angel, half-human link between the living and the dead.

It’s crucial that Meridian learn how to transition human souls to the afterlife - how to help people die. Only then can she help preserve the balance between good and evil on earth. But before she can do that, Meridian must come to terms with her ability, outsmart the charismatic preacher who’s taken over Revelation, and maybe - if she can accept her sworn protector, Tens, for who he is - fall in love. Meridian and Tens face great danger from the Aternocti, a band of dark forces who capture vulnerable souls on the brink of death and cause chaos. But together, they have the power to outsmart evil.
I enjoyed Meridian, the story was a different take on the angel character. I felt for Meridian as she had grown up with dead animals coming to her all her life, and she felt like a freak. Her parents didn't seem to want to have anything to with her, and she was kind of lost and alone. The premise of the story was really interesting. After an accident happens that she witnesses, her parents throw her in a car, and send her on her way. I felt it was really abrupt, and she was scared and confused,but everything was explained eventually. I began to understand why her parents did what they did. I wasn't to fond of her parents, but their actions I guess were understandable. It made me feel for Meridian more, and just want her to be all right.She has a hot love interest, Ten, but he's more that your typical love interest too. He's part of her life for a reason. That reason is slowly revealed, and helps bring them together. Her great-aunt is also more than she appears, and is there to help Meridian become who she needs to be. I really like her great aunts character. Meridian was even named after her. For such an old lady she had spunk and a great sense of humor. The bad guy is really bad, and really creepy, and of course, is also more than he seems. He has a serious grudge against Meridians aunt, and now her, but they can't figure out why. You have an inkling as to what his character is, but you never really sure. I wasn't a fan of the ending, it's left a lot open and I'm not sure if there's going to be another book. I hope so though. All in all Meridian is a dark , romantic and haunting story.  4/5 

  The undead can really screw up your senior year . . . 

Marrying a vampire definitely doesn’t fit into Jessica Packwood’s senior year “get-a-life” plan. But then a bizarre (and incredibly hot) new exchange student named Lucius Vladescu shows up, claiming that Jessica is a Romanian vampire princess by birth—and he’s her long-lost fiancĂ©. Armed with newfound confidence and a copy of Growing Up Undead: A Teen Vampire’s Guide to Dating, Health, and Emotions, Jessica makes a dramatic transition from average American teenager to glam European vampire princess. But when a devious cheerleader sets her sights on Lucius, Jess finds herself fighting to win back her wayward prince, stop a global vampire war—and save Lucius’s soul from eternal destruction.

Jessica's Guide was a fun read. The main character Jessica, is a little bit boring, has some confidence issues, and doesn't really know what to do with the deliciously hot Lucian. She thinks he's a little crazy (vampire Prince? Come on!), but seriously hot. I don't think she really likes her attraction to him, and fights off his advances- and explanations- with fervor. She finally has the attention of Jake, the boy the farm near hers. Jake is fairly attractive himself, and she really wants to feel something for the nice mortal boy. They carry on a sort of pseudo relationship, but Lucian seems to be getting in their way. Jake, is well, nice, but thats about the extent of his character. He's not the smartest either, but he really has Jessica's best interests at heart. Her parents are a bit strange, they provide quite a bit of comic relief. Lucian is (I'll say again) hot. He's pompous, arrogant, imperious and very overprotective. Oh, did I miss, hot too? He's never been unsure about himself in his entire life, but Jessica is just not going for it. He gradually builds up her confidence, but it still doesn't seem to send her his way. She's stubborn and thinks Jake is who she wants. I really enjoyed Lucian's attempts at seduction, and even though she wouldn't say it out loud, Jessica did too. When Jessica does realize she has feelings for Lucian, the nasty cheerleader has invaded her territory and Lucian's off with her. Jessica comes to a conclusion about herself and Lucian, and begins the task of making him want her again. All this is happening while Lucian is trying to appease Vampire leaders, and stop the beginnings of a Vampire war. Then after a some terrible accusations, and Lucian's apparent demise, Jessica is a little lost and forlorn. An unexpected visitor shows up, and Jessica heads off to Romania. She has finally, but reluctantly, embraced who she is. In Romania she finds a Lucian who seems to have devolved to a much baser side of his personality. He's cruel and scary, but Jessica will do anything to save him. Even give up her life. I loved all the characters in this book, and I was constantly laughing to myself. The ending is darker, but it doesn't distract from the story, as it's pretty much evolved to that point. I can't wait to get my hands on Jekyll & Hyde!      4.5/5



Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday 2

book cover of 

By Midnight 

A Ravenwood Novel 

by

Mia James  

By Midnight: A Ravenwood Novel


7 Jul 2010 (but I haven't seen it released in Aus yet)
A novel by

Mia James

April Dunne is not impressed. She's had to move from Edinburgh to Highgate, London, with her parents. She's left her friends - and her entire life - behind. She has to start at a new school and, worst of all, now she's stuck in a creepy old dump of a house which doesn't even have proper mobile phone reception. Ravenwood, her new school, is a prestigious academy for gifted (financially or academically) students - and the only place her parents could find her a place, in the middle of term, in the middle of London, on incredibly short notice. So she's stuck with the super-rich, and the super-smart . . . and trying to fit in is when the rest of the students seem to be more glamorous, smarter, or more talented than she is, is more than tough. It's intimidating and isolating, even when she finds a friend in the conspiracy-theorist Caro Jackson - and perhaps finds something more than friendship in the gorgeous, mysterious Gabriel Swift. But there's more going on at Ravenwood than meets the eye. Practical jokes on new students are normal, but when Gabriel saves her from . . . something . . . . in the Highgate Cemetery, and then she discovers that a murder took place, just yards away from where she had been standing, April has to wonder if something more sinister is going on. . . . and whether or not she's going to live through it . . .

book cover of 

Cut and Run 

 (Joe Hunter Thriller, book 4)

by

Matt Hilton

Cut and Run


(The fourth book in the Joe Hunter Thriller series)19 Aug 2010
A novel by

Matt Hilton

Joe Hunter's devil is Luke Rickard, a killer who has stolen his identity and committed a vicious double murder. His motive? Revenge. His method? A blade. His mission? Kill anyone Hunter holds dear. It is a deadly duel of wits that takes Hunter from the streets of Miami to the squalid barrios of Colombia to the jungle hideaway of a drug baron. And brings him face to face with his past. Revenge is a dish best served cold and Joe needs a cool head if Rickard is not to cut and run. CUT AND RUN the fourth high-octane adventure for Joe Hunter, the man whose mission is to rid the world of bad guys.

book cover of 

The Double-edged Sword 

 (Nowhere Chronicles, book 1)

by

Sarah Silverwood

The Double-edged Sword

(The first book in the Nowhere Chronicles series)

16 Sept 2010
A novel by


Sarah Silverwood

'Sixteen's an interesting age: not quite a fully grown man, but not a kid anymore neither. Anything is possible when you're sixteen.' Finmere Tingewick Smith was abandoned on the steps of the Old Bailey. Under the guardianship of the austere Judge Harlequin Brown and the elderly gentlemen of Orrery House, Fin has grown up under a very strange set of rules. He spends alternate years at two very different schools and now he's tired of the constant lies to even his best friends, to hide the insanity of his double life. Neither would believe the truth! But on his sixteenth birthday, everything changes. The Judge is killed, stabbed in the chest with a double-edged sword that's disturbingly familiar, and from that moment on, Fin is catapulted into an extraordinary adventure. Through the Doorway in Fin's London, a hole in the boundaries of Existence, lies another London -- and now both are in grave danger. For the Knights of Nowhere have kidnapped the Storyholder, the keeper of the Five Eternal Stories which weave the worlds together. Because of the Knights' actions, a black storm is coming, bringing madness with it. Fin may be just 16, but he has a long, dark journey ahead of him if he is to rescue the Storyholder and save Existence!

(descriptions taken from Fantastic Fiction)


Event hosted by Breaking The Spine

What are you waiting on?

...in my mailbox 1...

This is my first in my mailbox, and the meme is hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren

So I got two ARC's today
Ghost Watch by David Rollins & Burnt Snow Pt 1 by Van Badham.

and I brought Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson

What have you gotten this week?

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore into a movie!

I have just seen on imdb that the book I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore is being made into a movie and the book hasn't even been released yet! It looks like a great cast, and I can't wait to see it and read the book!

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Interview and Giveaway with Anna Hackett

Anna was generous enough to spare some time and be a part of my Spotlight on Australian Authors. I started the Spotlight to show the world Australia and our authors. I look forward to sharing some of them with you.


**********




I would like to thank Anna Hackett for joining us today.   



Thanks Jo-Anne for having me! It’s a pleasure to be here.  

SCR: Can you tell us a little about where you live?

I love at the top end of Australia in the Northern Territory. I live in a small mining town but we’re lucky enough to be right on the beach. We have gorgeous white sand beaches and blue water…and crocodiles, sharks and jelly fish! So while I love walking on the beach, there’s no swimming.

SCR: Do you have a favourite holiday spot? Why is it your favourite?

Do I have to pick just one? In Australia, I love the Hunter Valley – the vineyards there are beautiful and the wine is great. I lived in Denver, Colorado for several years and still miss the mountains and clear blue skies. I love Europe and all its history, but my favourite spot is Egypt. I’ve visited twice and would happily go back again to see more of the pyramids, tombs and temples. I’m addicted to ancient history.
SCR: What do you do besides write?

Work – I work in the mining industry and enjoy my work. Read – my love of reading is what sparked my desire to write. Spend time with my wonderful husband – we love watching movies and playing video games.

SCR: Can you give us a little run down on your ebooks?

I write paranormal short stories for Nocturne Bites. These ebook-only stories are dark, sensual and action-packed. I love writing paranormal and mixing in my love of history and action.

I have four Bites available: Savage Dragon tells the story of two modern-day dragon knights who collide on the hunt for a vicious wild dragon.

Wind Kissed, Fire Bound and Taken by the South Wind are two linked stories set in Italy. These stories centre on the WindKeepers -- four brothers and a woman who are keepers of the wind.

My latest release is Hunter’s Surrender. It features a battle-scarred vampire hunter and the beautiful vampire who must seduce him in order to save her life and her family. There’s some Indian mythology mixed in there – think chakras, out-of-control energy and Tantric sex!

SCR: Was there one defining moment when you decided you wanted to write?

Yes, actually. Like I mentioned, I’m a die hard reader and never dreamed of being a writer. But I was on a work trip to a mine in Quebec, Canada a few years ago and had finished all the books I’d brought with me to read in the evenings. I suddenly decided I’d try writing my own!

SCR: Do you have a muse?

No, I try to take a more disciplined approach to writing. If I waited for the muse, I probably wouldn’t get much writing done! I have days when the words flow and days when they feel ripped out of me, but I just keep writing.

SCR: Did you have a favourite genre/author you liked to read when you were younger?

When I was very young, I remember a book of fairytales I just adored. Once I got a little older, my two favourite genres were romance and action thrillers (and still are today). It comes from having discovered my mother’s stash of romances (I loved Nora Roberts and Linda Howard) and finally being able to reach my father’s shelf of Wilbur Smith and Clive Cussler. I love combining the two – action and romance -- in my own stories!

SCR: Who was your favourite band/singer when you were a teenager?

No one I was obsessive about. I liked lots of different bands and singers but I always had my nose stuck in a book.

SCR: Does music ever influence your writing?

Sometimes I do enjoy having music on when I’m writing. Not sure if it influences me or not, if I’m lost in my story often I don’t even hear it! I like listening to soundtracks most of all – the Gladiator and the Battlestar Galactica soundtracks are my favourites.

Now that I think of it, Taken by the South Wind (which is set in Rome) I wrote while listening to the Gladiator soundtrack and I think it helped set the tone for that story.

All photo's courtesy of Anna Hackett
SCR: Name five people, past or present, you would have over for dinner?

Gosh, this is a hard question! Jane Austen (love Pride and Prejudice), Nora Roberts, Hugh Jackman (no explanation needed!), George Lucas (that’s for my hubby, he’s a huge Star Wars fan) and Joss Whedon (I love all his TV shows and think he’s a great storyteller).

Thanks again Anna.

Hunter's Surrender

Hunter's SurrenderVampire hunter Rand Wilder hated vampires—even if they were as beautiful and alluring as vampire princess Dominique Valois. For years he fought the beings who had killed his father, resisting their dangerous sensuality. Yet even Rand was tempted by the intoxicating Dominique and her shocking offer: to hurt the vampire court by taking her virginity....

A desperate need to ruin her reputation had forced Dominique to seek out the hunter known as The Darkness. But she hadn't expected Rand to be so captivating and compassionate.... Soon a very different sort of need drove her desire to take Rand to her bed. And with Dominique's survival depending on it, she would have to use all her skills of seduction to make this strong hunter surrender to passion....

Hunter's Surrender available now from Harlequin/Silhouette Nocturne Bites


One random commenter will be chosen by random.org to win a copy of Anna's latest release Hunters Surrender(ebook). To make things interesting(you don't have to answer) but who would you invite over for dinner?
Competition ends Sat 24th July.